Pillars of Islam

Fasting in Islam

Fasting (sawm) is the third pillar of Islam. Right from dawn till dusk, a man who is strictly on a fast will neither eat as much as one morsel of food nor drink a single drop of water. By submitting to this discipline, that is, by depriving himself of the prime necessities of life, man learns the valuable lesson of fortitude. With no food and drink, he naturally feels hungry and thirsty, and his strength begins to ebb.

Mosque and Salat in Islam

What is the role of the mosque in Islam? Masjid, or mosque, literally means ‘a place for self-prostration,’ that is, a place formally designated for the saying of prayers. According to a hadith, the Prophet of Islam observed: “The Masjid is a house of God-fearing people.” This means, in effect, that it is a centre for the inculcation of reverence, where individuals learn what is meant by piety and are thus prepared for a life of devotion to the Almighty.

Worship in Islam

God has stated in the Qur’an: “I only created mankind and the Jinn that they might worship Me.” (51:56) According to Islam, the principal goal of life on this earth, from day one, is for human beings to show profound reverence for their Creator. The individual who lives for worship has fulfilled the purpose of his life. Conversely, one who does not lead a life of self-dedication to God has become derailed.

What is worship? Worship, the equivalent to devotion, means giving oneself wholly to God: it means surrendering oneself in both the physical and the intellectual sense.

Seventh Article of Faith – Belief in the Hereafter (Akhirat)

Akhirat or the Hereafter is another fundamental articles of faith in Islam. A Muslim should believe in the world of the Hereafter that will come after we die.

Sixth Article of Faith – Belief in Destiny (Taqdir)

Taqdir (predestination) forms part of the fundamental beliefs of Islam. This is the sixth article of faith. Taqdir in Arabic is also called Al-Qadha-o-al Qadr, which means to “measure out” or “pre-ordering.”

Fifth Article Of Faith – Belief in the Day of Judgment (Qiyamah)

Yawm al-Qayamah or the Day of the Resurrection means the Day of Judgement in Islam. Belief in Qiyamah is a fundamental tenet of faith in Islam. It is also referred in the Quran as, "the Hour" (Qur'an 31.34, 74.47), "Day of the Account" (Qur'an 72.130), "Day of the Gathering", "Day of the Reckoning", "Day of Distress" (Qur'an 74.9) and the "Great Announcement".

Fourth Article Of Faith – Belief in Revealed Books (Kutub)

It is a matter of Islamic belief that God, in His mercy, has sent prophet after prophet to lead people forth from darkness to light. The belief in all of God’s revealed books forms an integral part of Islamic faith.

These divine books commanded justice in everything and exhorted invited men to repent.

Third Article Of Faith - Belief in Prophethood (Risalah)

Risalah or Prophethood is another fundamental articles of faith in Islam. A Muslim should believe in the Prophethood and in all the prophets sent by God and make no distinction between them.

Second Article Of Faith – Belief in Angels (Malaika)

Malaika or belief in the angels is another fundamental articles of faith in Islam. A Muslim should believe in the existence of Angels, although they may be unseen to us in this world.

Of the many beings created by God, the angels are of special importance. They have been invested by God with the supernatu¬ral power to keep order in the functioning of the universe. They do not, however, deviate in the slightest from the path of God, for all their actions are in complete obedience to His will. This is because they have not been invested with a free will by God Almighty.