Third Article Of Faith - Belief in Prophethood (Risalah)

Risalah or Prophethood is another fundamental articles of faith in Islam. A Muslim should believe in the Prophethood and in all the prophets sent by God and make no distinction between them.

Second Article Of Faith – Belief in Angels (Malaika)

Malaika or belief in the angels is another fundamental articles of faith in Islam. A Muslim should believe in the existence of Angels, although they may be unseen to us in this world.

Of the many beings created by God, the angels are of special importance. They have been invested by God with the supernatu¬ral power to keep order in the functioning of the universe. They do not, however, deviate in the slightest from the path of God, for all their actions are in complete obedience to His will. This is because they have not been invested with a free will by God Almighty.


There are seven things which are essential for a Muslim to believe in. These are spelled out in detail in the formal declaration of Islamic faith known as Iman Mufassal. Muslims pledge:

1.  Faith in God;

2.  Faith in His angels;

3.  Faith in all of His messengers or Prophets;

4.  Faith in His revealed Books;

5.  Faith in the Last Day or the Day of Judgement;

6.  Faith in the doctrine of predestination, which lays down that everything good or bad is decided by God), (Taqdir) and

7.  Faith in the life after death.

What is Iman?

Iman or Faith is the first pillar of Islam. It is through iman that a person enters into the fold of Islam. When one acknowledges God as one's Lord and Master, one is entering, as it were, into a 'contract' with God, a covenant which excludes all other beings and makes Him all in all. Then it is around Him alone that all one's thoughts and emotions will revolve; it is in Him alone that one will place complete trust. With the passage of time it will be to no one but the Almighty that all one's hopes, fears and supplications will be addressed.

The Tenets of Islam

Every religion or system has a set of terminology, which is necessary to understand in order to have a proper appreciation of that particular religion or system. These are called the tenets of the religion. The religion of Islam too has its set of terminology or tenets. Besides the five pillars of Islam there are certain other terms and concepts that need to be understood to have a clear understanding of Islam. They are as follows:

1. Islam (Surrender to God)

The Five Pillars of Islam

In order that he may lead his life properly in this world, Quran (the word of God) and Hadith (the words and actions of the Prophet Muhammad) provide man with an action plan known as the ‘Five Pillars of Islam.’ These are Iman (faith), Salat (prayers), Zakah (almsgiving), Hajj (pilgrimage to Makkah) and Sawm (fasting).

Relevance of Quran and Sunnah in Modern Times

Every religion revealed by God was, in its original form, eternal in character, just as the sun and the moon, the air and the water have a timeless character about them. Religion, in fact, is another name for eternal values, which in their nature are timeless and uniformly applicable in all situations and at all times.

Islam’s Original Sources

A true believer in Islam is one who subordinates his thinking to God, who follows God’s dictates in all aspects of his life. What are the dictates of God? These are what are preserved in the Original sources of Islam: the Quran and the Sunnah. Both the Qur'an and Sunnah were transmitted to us through the last Messenger of God: Muhammad bin Abdullah.

The Quran

The Essence of Islam

In essence, Islam comprises of Iman or Faith, Ibadah or worship and Akhlaq or morality. Let us understand this a little more in detail.

Iman (faith)